Disability // A Prompt

I still try hiding my disability, it is not pretty enough or radical enough to be in the light

People watch my hands tremble as I struggle to complete mundane tasks

Feeling my frustration that my hands can’t move fast enough but theirs can

I don’t want it to be everything that I am, but as soon as someone knows, it’s all I am associated with

Questions cause embarrassment because now I know people notice

“Do you have a limp?”

“Why does your foot sometimes drag?”

“Are you ok, your hands are shaking?”

It has me in its hold and it will never go away

I was outlasted for it before the diagnosis and medication hiding the episodes

Do you understand yet?

How can I be proud of it when I was thrown away for not being perfect enough for my peers?

via Daily Prompt: Tether

Leave a Reply

