I looked for you letters in the dirt

Burning them seemed less likely than burying your love for me in an unmarked grave

I gave up and watched clouds dance across the sky trying to decipher their meaning

Maybe they held the secrets of you leaving without a trace

Nights I drank you in only for you to leave

Scent lingering in my sheets

When I lie awake I imagine a boat floating me back home into your arms

Words of love whispered into my neck

Maybe your words never really meant to last only to keep me tangled in you

I still search for their ghosts

via Daily Prompt: Meaningless

Leave a Reply

