Daily Prompt: Mystical

Growing up in the woods you get away with experiencing a type of magic none will understand but those who have seen it

Trees whispered me their secrets as I whispered them mine

Hiding downriver where no one treads

I just want to listen to the symphonies of water licking my feet and meeting the riverbanks for the first time

We ran around barefoot to feel the mud squish between our toes and to feel closer to the earth we come from

Ignoring the mosquitoes knawing at your skin gets easier the more time you spend here

Nightfall had us reaching for the stars once more

Awestruck at the moon I wanted to return to the space I am made of

I am no mystic but meandering through rainshowers midsummer with hair stuck to our cheeks, clothes wet enough to stick to our bodies, giggling to the thunder’s clapping is an out of body experience that makes your heart happy enough to keep going through the hardest of times

To this day I am caught outside barefoot to everyone’s surprise

We know I haven’t quite lost the magic that growing up takes from you

via Daily Prompt: Mystical

Leave a Reply

