Wander

I watched you kill yourself over and over remembering the ghosts living in each crevice of you

Unable to forgive yourself enough to let them go

You watched me unravel, unable to piece together the words that would bring me back to Earth

No matter how far I’ve wandered, I keep drifting back to your arms

You are the  anchor that keeps this boat afloat in unsteady waters

You are home

When I look at you, there aren’t butterflies, I feel the world slowing down with a glass of red wine that is your kiss

We were old enough to love but too young for forever’s promise

I knew we would venture back to one another

Your smile is the only adventure I would continue to take

I wouldn’t mind starting again if you stay in the house my heart built you

Convince me goodbye will only be at the last exhale

Leave a Reply

