Gone, Present Tense

Your eyes mapped my wildest dreams

Blues melting me away in your hand

Your kiss made it easier to forgive the sting of longings gone by

You held me like you never loved anything that came close before

All I could think was sorrow for what I couldn’t be

All I couldn’t become

Giving you all I had wouldn’t be enough and I knew before you pulled the trigger

Shooting the love I thought was bulletproof

You can’t even tell someone like you once lived in this body

Loving someone like me isn’t in your nature

You’re just a distant memory anymore

Tasting like sweet honey your voice met me with

But until next time, my friend

This is goodbye

Leave a Reply

