Dance with Me

We change with the seasons

Yet I can’t bleach you off my mind

Fall – ironically I fell for you

Every time I smell the perfume I wore in that moment

I feel as if I’ve taken a trip in time

Back to high school gym class

Winter – I pulled you closer to warm myself back up

The snow and the emptiness haunting my bones don’t mix well

Spring – you weren’t afraid to hold my hand and dance in the rain with me

I never felt so alive

I never felt so in love with anyone

Summer – we continued to dance together in the rain

We were goofy, we were kind

And your house always smelled like laundry

Every time I catch a whiff of laundry now it rockets me back into your arms

Fall – I think this is when we fell away from each other

I don’t like to remember how it hurt

The entire future I dreamt of us disappeared

 

The spring rains have returned again

It feels like monsoons without you here

The rain whispers your name with every drop

Come dance with me again

Leave a Reply

