Strength

People ask me why I’m so open when I talk about my illnesses and what I’ve been through

As if the kids who didn’t live to see the light of today aren’t brave

They suffered until they could no longer

Their cries are haunting

More blood is spilled every day from people like me

While they lay in death’s silence

There is strength to be found in suffering

They found the strength to say they couldn’t do it anymore

I found the strength to utter the words I thought I couldn’t

All of us

Dead and alive

Share the same story

“I thought I couldn’t”

“I was tired”

“I was bleeding”

“I was indirectly killing myself”

“I was indirectly killing my family”

Strength is not always time clean

Or years alive after the breakdown

Sometimes strength is finding the exit

Leave a Reply

