Forget-Me-Not

I thought you would restore my faith in love

Instead you treated me as a dandelion in spring

Plucking me from everything that meant anything to myself

And blowing away everything recognizable

You tore every petal from my stem

You can tell when I began giving up on myself

I became quiet again

Even on social media – I am known for tweeting too much

In my free time I edited my suicide note

I ordered forget-me-nots to arrive on your doorstep for the day the air stopped running through my lungs

But you received them yesterday afternoon

When the love you felt for me was pushed off a cliff

So you could make room for her

One thought on “Forget-Me-Not

Leave a Reply

