Phenomenon

When I look in the mirror I see an almost carbon copy of the last two generations of women on my face

The same etches of lines when I smile

Eyes that make people forget wars are being waged

A nose that makes people think I could be Rudolph’s twin

A laugh that unapologetically carries across a room

Mannerisms that invite people

Freckles that somehow only wander the length of my nose

Yet I don’t feel as strong

I may still be young

I may be strong in ways that aren’t visible to me yet

But the last two generations I see in the mirror

They tell me to keep going

That I can do anything I set my mind to

Leave a Reply

