An Ode to An Ex || Video of Reading Included

Video of me reading the poem here

 

My anger is not cute
Let me kill him
With words that taste like poison
Words that hit his chest like daggers
Puncturing his lungs
Making his heart sink to his knees

Do not tell me my anger is invalid
Yes I have a new boyfriend
No that does not mean all my feelings have left
He took away the only think I had left to my name
Happy fled on his noble steed
Sad couldn’t bear residing in my mind anymore so she drowned herself
Empty is all I was left with

I can be angry all I want
You can’t forget the times we fucked to Radiohead in the dark
With your sister in the next room and your parents downstairs
Just to quiet the sadness
With her friend adrenaline

My love for you was an atomic bomb
It began with falling
Then the explosion
A mushroom cloud erupted
Filled with love, lust, sadness, and hatred
A never ending sadness as if we were both lost at sea
Hatred not only for ourselves but the world around us

The aftermath was a barren wasteland
I was empty most days
Other days I was filled with sorrow
I was sorry I let you take so much of my time
I was sorry I left
I was sorry when she replaced me
I am sorry

Leave a Reply

