For Someone Who Isn’t Afraid to Hold My Hand

I will not be your Pudge
Who says “I love her present tense”
When Alaska sends her chest through the steering wheel
I will not be your Juliet
Yes I realize 6 people died because of her and Romeo
That story should’ve been about Mercutio
Who instead of seeking medical treatment after being stabbed
Made a pun and died
I won’t be the Hazel Grace to your Augustus
Who fought his dying bout of cancer with him
But nights you’re wondering why I’m with you
I promise I’ll be more than the shy girl who hides behind glasses
Tripping over her words
I’ll show you that you’re more than the slits on your wrists
Maybe I’ll convince you that the sun shines from your smile
And god I love that smile

Leave a Reply

