I Am Part of an Epidemic

There is a giant epidemic going on and it involves mental illness. There has, in my opinion, been a large increase in mental illness in adolescents like me. How would I know? Well I am in contact with quite a few. About 1 in 5 self harm. That statistic saddens me because I am that 1 out of 5. There’s a significant amount of depression cases and anxiety cases in teens as well. I know I have had meltdowns because of anxiety. Through this epidemic there has also been the glorification of mental illness, like that post going around about suicidal people being angels that just want to go home. To those people, cut the shit. Self harm isn’t pretty, neither is anxiety or depression. Stop acting like its a fashion statement.

Leave a Reply

